Coffee and Conversation with Ava Jae

Hello! I hope you’ve all stayed safe and warm during the recent blizzard and are now getting back to your regular schedules. That was a lot of snow!

Registration for Team SCBWI, our conference on March 19 and 20 is going strong! Don’t delay if you have not yet registered — there are still critique slots open.

Ava Author Photo_smallJPGToday we have as our guest in the Cyber Cafe, the lovely and charming Ava Jae, who will be a member of the faculty for Team SCBWI.

Ava Jae is a writer, an Assistant Editor at Entangled Publishing, and is represented by Louise Fury of The Bent Agency. Her YA Sci-Fi debut, BEYOND THE RED, is releasing March 1, 2016 from Sky Pony Press. When she’s not writing about kissing, superpowers, explosions, and aliens, you can find her with her nose buried in a book, nerding out over the latest X-Men news, or hanging out on her blog, Twitter, Facebook, tumblr, Goodreads, Instagram, or YouTube channel.

Beyond the Red_cover

Welcome Ava!

First off, what’s your favorite coffeehouse beverage?

chai_tea2-1Tea! I’m a big tea person, and I especially like Chai. Mochas are also delicious, but I have to be careful with my sugar intake, so I usually only have those when I make them myself. ☺

 

darkchocolate

 

And your favorite snack?

 

Chocolate. Definitely chocolate—the darker the better.

What was your favorite book as a child?

I pretty much grew up with the Harry Potter series, and I read each book multiple times. It never gets old. ☺

And now, what’s your favorite book as an adult?

Bardugo_Green_books

Asking me to pick just one is pretty near impossible. I love Leigh Bardugo and Sally Green’s books (The Grisha and Half Bad trilogies, respectively), and more recently I just finished Illuminae by Amy Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, which jumped onto my favorites list very quickly.

You magically find a $100.00 bill in your box of cereal. In what frivolous way would you spend it? (Key word: Frivolous!)

I’m not sure books count as frivolous, but I’d definitely head to the bookstore! Otherwise, I did mention my love for chocolate, yes?

bookstore-indie

You’ve been locked in a bank vault Twilight Zone style, so you finally have time to read!  Your glasses are fine (whew!) so what’s the first book you crack open?

Wellll next up on my TBR list after I finish the ARC I’m currently reading is Dreamstrider by Lindsay Smith. So, Dreamstrider!

If you followed the career path you chose for yourself in high school, what would you be doing for a living now? 

Exactly this. Writing novels and speaking at fabulous conferences. I’m lucky enough to have followed my high school career path exactly. ☺

For one day, time travel is a reality and you can visit any famous deceased author you want.  Who do you pick?

J.R.R. Tolkien

J.R.R. Tolkien

Chatting with J.R.R. Tolkein would be pretty awesome—I’d love to pick his brain about his amazing fantasy worldbuilding.

 

What’s your favorite motivational quote?

“There’s a word for a writer who never gives up: published.” —J.A. Konrath

If you could sum up your best marketing advice for new writers or illustrators in only four words, what would it be?

This is three words but: you do you.

Thanks again and we’re looking forward to seeing you at the conference!

Likewise! ☺

 

 

About susandilldetwiler

Freelance illustrator living in Baltimore
This entry was posted in Conference Information, Interviews: Agents & Editors, Interviews: Authors and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Coffee and Conversation with Ava Jae

  1. Pingback: Coffee & Conversation with Laura Shovan | As the Eraser Burns

  2. Pingback: Team SCBWI in MD/DE/WV March Conference

  3. Pingback: Coffee & Conversation with Vicki Selvaggio | As the Eraser Burns

  4. Pingback: Coffee and Conversation with Nanci Turner Steveson | As the Eraser Burns

  5. Pingback: Coffee & Conversation with Andrew Harwell | As the Eraser Burns

  6. Pingback: Team SCBWI Conference news and Upcoming Events | As the Eraser Burns

  7. Pingback: Coffee and Conversation with Betsy Bird | As the Eraser Burns

  8. Pingback: Team SCBWI: Tips, Info, and All Things Conference! | As the Eraser Burns

Leave a Reply

