Coffee and Conversation with Heather Alexander

Happy Tuesday! I hope everyone is enjoying the more seasonable weather we have today. Try not to track mud into the house.

At our conference less than three weeks from now (very soon!) we will have as one of our distinguished faculty the lovely Heather Alexander, Literary Agent at Pippin Properties where she handles PB/MG/YA. Heather comes from a book-loving family and for six years was an editor at Dial BFYR; some of you may remember her last visit to our region, at the March 2011 conference. We are happy to have her back, and invited her to visit us today in the Cyber Cafe.

WrgGnwqkpippin logo

 Welcome, Heather! First off, what’s your favorite coffeehouse beverage?

Oh, I’m not too fancy. I usually just get a regular drip coffee. Sometimes I put milk and sugar in it, sometimes I drink it black.

A_time_for_a_cup_of_coffee

And your favorite snack?

I dig apples and cheese, but have a serious weakness for chips and salsa.

What was your favorite book as a child?

The Twits by Roald Dahl. I couldn’t believe I was getting away with reading something so wicked!

51211a

And now, what’s your favorite book as an adult?

It changes all the time. My favorite coming-soon book is Trouble is a Friend of Mine by Stephanie Tromly, out in August from Kathy Dawson Books at Penguin.

But Leaves of Grass is the one I curl up with, my best friend book.

You magically find a $100.00 bill in your box of cereal. In what frivolous way would you spend it? (Key word: Frivolous!)

Books is the obvious answer, right? Maybe I’d take it to Sephora and splurge on fancy lipstick and nail polish. Or maybe some really good cheese. These things don’t seem super frivolous.

You’ve been locked in a bank vault Twilight Zone style, so you finally have time to read!  Your glasses are fine (whew!) so what’s the first book you crack open? 

This question is making my brain short-out. That sounds pretty uncomfortable, so I’d like something cozy and awesome and familiar, so it would have to be I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson.

DownloadedFile-7

If you followed the career path you chose for yourself in high school, what would you be doing for a living now? 

Probably makeup or costumes for the thea-tah.

For one day, time travel is a reality and you can visit any famous deceased author you want.  Who do you pick?

Charles Dickens, for sure, but I’d want him to visit me instead. I often wonder what he’d write about contemporary New York City.

629-Charles-Dickens-wallpaper-q80-500x313

What’s your favorite motivational quote?

Fall down seven times, get up eight.

If you could sum up your best advice for new writers or illustrators in only four words, what would it be?

Work harder, read more.
Or
This isn’t a hobby.

Thanks again and we’re looking forward to seeing you at the conference!

About susandilldetwiler

Freelance illustrator living in Baltimore
This entry was posted in Conference Information, Interviews: Agents & Editors and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

