Coffee & Conversation with Kate Angelella

Conference is officially a month away now!  So who”s excited?  This girl (I’m waving my thumbs toward me)!!!  I’m really excited to see many of you again and to meet and listen to all of our amazing presenters. I had the pleasure of catching up with one of our presenters today, Kate Angelella.

Kate&CoffeeKate Angelella is a freelance writer and editor. She recently moved to Baltimore from NYC, where she had spent several years as an editor for Aladdin, Simon & Schuster, and reading for Donadio & Olson. Kate acquired many books at S&S– including 2009 Coretta Scott King /John Steptoe award-winner, The Rock and the River by Kekla Magoon. Kate has written work-for-hire books, such as Nancy Drew, and is currently at work on a new original YA novel.

Let’s get to the questions!

First off, what’s your favorite coffeehouse beverage?

I am a huge fan of beauty in simplicity: dark-roast coffee, black or with a little cream.

And your favorite snack?

There has never been a day that hasn’t been brightened by a plate of nachos. Especially the Drunken Sweeney nachos from Holy Frijoles. About 15 years ago, my husband brought me to that restaurant for our first Baltimore date (he’s from here). And 15 years later, that place is still standing—and thriving! It was one of our first meals the week we moved to Baltimore for good (a few months back).

HolyFrijoliesNachos

 

(Adds Holy Frijoles to my list of places to check out!) What was your favorite book as a child?

JALAWTThere were so many! Early on, I was definitely obsessed with Just As Long as We’re Together by Judy Blume. Then, when I was in high school, I read Francesca Lia Block’s The Hanged Man—that’s the book that really made me fall in love with writing.

 

I love Francesca Lia Block as well! So, what’s your favorite book as an adult?

I’m still completely in awe of both Francesca Lia Block and Judy Blume. So . . . not much has changed! Anything by Lauren Oliver, Holly Black, and the Wings trilogy by Aprilynne Pike are recent favorites.

 

You magically find a $100.00 bill in your box of cereal. In what frivolous way would you spend it? (Key word: Frivolous!)

RodererEstateBrutNVHmmm. Well, I definitely like to spend money on events more than objects. So . . . I don’t know if this is necessarily frivolous . . . but I would most definitely get a bottle of Roderer Estate Brut Non-Vintage Champagne, some takeout I normally couldn’t afford, and bring it all home to share with my husband!

Ross&Kate

 

 

 

 

You’ve been locked in a bank vault Twilight Zone style, so you finally have time to read!  Your glasses are fine (whew!) so what’s the first book you crack open? 

That episode made me cringe! I would probably read something that I’m intrigued by, but that isn’t my usual cup of tea. Something like Haruki Murakami’s The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle—which I bought years ago and still haven’t gotten around to reading.

 

If you followed the career path you chose for yourself in high school, what would you be doing for a living now? 

I’d be a print journalist.

 

What’s your favorite motivational quote?

I’ve been really into C.S. Lewis lately. I love his quote about courage:

“Courage is not simply one of the virtues but the form of every virtue at the testing point. ”

 

If you could sum up your best advice for new writers or illustrators in only four words, what would it be?

Practice your craft.

 

Thanks again and we’re looking forward to seeing you at the conference!

Thank YOU!!! J

 

About Shelley Koon

Artist and author - visit me at my site listed below.
This entry was posted in Conference Information, Interviews: Agents & Editors, Interviews: Authors, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

