Halloween Treat: New IC!

Introducing Our New Illustrator Coordinator

Happy Halloween, everyone! As some of you may know, I have been the MD/DE/WV SCBWI Illustrator Coordinator since 2007 when I was asked by our then RA, Mona Kerby. It has been a very fun and rewarding experience, and I have met many talented people and enjoyed the interactions. I learned a lot, too! But now it’s time to step aside and pass the baton to a wonderful illustrator/author and warm, generous person, Rebecca Evans, who has helped me and who I know will do a superb job in this position. I will remain as a volunteer on the planning committee, so you’re not getting rid of me just yet!

And now I am pleased to introduce your new Illustrator Coordinator, Rebecca Evans!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hello Maryland, Delaware and West Virginia! Although I am sad to see Susan Detwiler step down and Illustrator Coordinator (she is one amazing lady) I am super excited to have the opportunity to be more involved with our region and all our wonderful members.

We thought you all might like to know a little bit more about me as I step into Susan’s shoes as Illustrator Coordinator. So here it goes…

All about me (Rebecca Evans):

I grew up in Buffalo NY and moved to Maryland when I married my college sweetheart. We live in Severna Park with our 3… but soon to be 4 kids. We are in the process of adopting our newest son from China! I’m busy right now attempting to learn Mandarin (attempting being the key word here) and painting bedrooms.

I’ve always wanted to be an artist, ever since I was a little bitty girl. I graduated from Messiah College with a BA in Drawing and Illustration but then had no idea how to get a job, so I stopped drawing, became a graphic designer, then a mom, and one day looked in the mirror and wondered who was staring back at me. I picked up my pencils and paints and discovered myself again, but I still had no idea how to get a job, UNTIL I was referred to SCBWI by a writer friend. I scraped together my first portfolio (doing EVERYTHING wrong) and attended my first conference. I fell in love with SCBWI right there and then as Susan Detwiler gave me my first portfolio critique ever and I’ve been a member ever since.

All about my work:

As of today, thanks to the help of SCBWI, I have illustrated four published picture books and a set of six middle grade readers. This year the first picture book I both authored and illustrator was released. Currently I’m working on completing one picture book and beginning work on another set of middle grade readers as well as working on some additional manuscripts that I hope to sell as author and illustrator. I also mentor with EB Lewis, a program I would highly recommend to others! You can see my work online at www.rebeccaevans.net

SomedayFlyCover_small

Plans for our Region:

First, I hope to keep up Susan’s excellent work as Illustrator Coordinator! In addition to the regular conferences and events I’m planning to have three small illustrator events each year, such as sketch crawls and portfolio critiques as well as one larger illustrator event, for which we are currently discussing options. Also, I’ve begun a private illustrator critique blog where any of our members can post work and ask for feedback on a regular basis. If you are interested in joining please contact me!

I’m always open to suggestions or questions so please feel free to email and give me your two-cents or ask for help. I look forward to getting to know you all better!

Sincerely,

Rebecca Evans,

Rebecca@rebeccaevans.net

About susandilldetwiler

Freelance illustrator living in Baltimore
This entry was posted in Author/Illustrator Events, Critique Group Tips & Info, Interviews: Authors, Interviews: Illustrators, Member News and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Halloween Treat: New IC!

  1. Sue Poduska says:

    We’re so lucky to have so much talent and dedication in our region! Thanks for all your help over the past years, Susan. And welcome, Rebecca!

  2. Thank you, Sue. I see a bright future ahead for our region.

  3. Sue Peters says:

    Starting our illustrators critque group, speaking on “The Secret Life of Illustrators” and ever-helpful behind the scenes, Rebecca has already played a supporting role in our region. I’m delighted she is willing to take on a starring part. You can read posts about her here:

    https://aseraserburns.wordpress.com/2013/08/23/coffee-conversation-with-rebecca-evans-3/

    https://aseraserburns.wordpress.com/2013/04/25/abc-event-baltimore-when-zesty-met-delicious/

    https://aseraserburns.wordpress.com/2011/12/07/coffee-conversation-with-rebecca-evans/

Leave a Reply

