Week 2 in NaNo and PiBoIdMo Worlds

I learn a lot about myself as a writer during NaNoWriMo.  Possibly, it’s closer to the truth to say I remember all my faults during NaNo.  A few of them are: meticulously plotting in October and then winging it in November, possibly needing a refresher in grammar, and loving to come up with story ideas and then not loving actually sitting for hours to get them into the computer.  Trust me when I tell you those are only the tip of the iceberg.

I’m also a neurotic mess when it comes time to submit anything and have been known to obsess for hours over one sentence or the punctuation of one sentence.  Someone suggested I  journal my NaNo experience, but I’m pretty sure I would look it over in October and throw it out the window in November.

That said, I still love NaNo and here’s why-I count any usable work as a major plus.  For me, to get a workable rough draft (I really mean rough) completed is major.  And this year, I’m not trying to finish a YA manuscript.  Yay for 20,000-30,000 words instead of 50,000 to 80,000.

Obviously, I set my own NaNo goals and I’m fine with that.  I’ve never finished 50,000 words in one month and probably never will.  My goal for this week is to come to the midpoint of my draft and possibly re-plot the remainder. (This is necessary because the book I sat down and wrote is completely different than the book I plotted in October.)

I had high hopes for doing PiBoIdMo and, so far, I’ve got nothing usable.  At least, that’s the way I see it at this point.

I hope that you are all writing and/or illustrating everyday.  For me, that’s the real  meaning of all these challenges.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 2 in NaNo and PiBoIdMo Worlds

  1. Thank you for sharing this Larissa! I am doing PiBoIdMo and have so many ideas… but when I read the list, I want to delete most of them. It’s almost like having a really bad first draft. I don’t know that any of them are usable. Ugh! Keep your chin up!

Leave a Reply

