They’re Coming…PiBoIdMo and NaNoWrimo

It’s October and I love October. There’s something about the way the leaves change color and float through the crisp air, hay rides, and orange pumpkins scattered over farmer’s fields that makes me want to write. Maybe it’s just that my little ones are back to school and I actually have a little uninterrupted time, who knows. Either way, November is host to a couple of my favorite writing challenges: PiBoIdMo and NaNoWriMo.

What the heck is PiBoIdMo you ask?

It’s Picture Book Idea Month and the brainchild of Tara Lazar. The concept is to write 30 picture book ideas in 30 days. You don’t have to finish the manuscripts. Although, kudos to you if you get inspired because that’s what these writing challenges are all about-INSPIRATION.

Don’t delay- Registration for PiBoIdMo begins on Halloween and continues into the beginning of November. Writers who register and complete the exercise are eligible to win some awesome prizes. Register here: http://taralazar.com/piboidmo

But, what if you really want to write a novel and you want to write it in a month with the support of an amazing group of like-minded people?

NaNoWriMo was made just for you! The challenge is to write 50,000 words in thirty days. And, guess what? Plan to your heart’s content all through October. Go ahead and buy those whiteboards, index cards, coffee and chocolate. Start outlining, charting, and character building. Plan a write-in with friends. Bombard your local coffee shops in droves. If you would like more information about what’s happening in your specific area for NaNoWriMo visit: http://nanowrimo.org/regions/usa-maryland or http://nanowrimo.org.

Sarah Maynard (a picture book writer from Odenton) and Lisa Pires (a novelist from Annapolis) are joining forces to do an SCBWI kick-off event for PiBoIdMo and NaNoWriMo on October 20th.  They’re also hoping to get some critique groups started.  Please refer to the flyer that was posted on our SCBWI/MD/DE/WV Facebook page for more information.  www.facebook.com/groups/118658148152899/

Here’s Sarah’s Bio:

As far back as I can remember, I have always loved writing. Even though I love to write, I didn’t think of it as a professional path for me until this year.  Thanks to a little speed bump, my fourth baby, making me take time to slow down, I realized that writing is the path I was supposed to take.  So this year I dove into the world of picture books.  It will be my first year participating in PiBoIdMo.  I’m sure my four little munchkins will continue to be sources of inspiration and hopefully they will have a few calm moments when I can jot down ideas! You can find me on twitter@SMDMaynard or Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/sarahmdm.  As we settle into a fall routine, I hope to get back to blogging at www.thisaverageamericanhome.com.

And, Lisa’s Bio:

Lisa Veronica Pires is a MFA candidate with Spalding University specializing in Writing for Children and Young Adults.  A former teacher, Lisa graduated from Vanderbilt University, Peabody College, with a Master’s in Education and prior to that a BA in English Literature from the University of Maryland, College Park.  She’s published with Gypsy Shadow, named a finalist in the Saturday’s Child Press Fiction Writing Contest in 2013, and awarded an Eileen Spinelli Scholarship in 2011.  Her upcoming novel, Oliver Conroy and his Repossessed Soul, was recently accepted for publication with Crescent Moon Press.  She’s a member of SCBWI, AWP, and the MWA.

I hope you are inspired by the plentiful writing/illustrating opportunities that the fall season brings.  Good luck.  The world needs your picture book, novel, artwork, and brilliance.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to They’re Coming…PiBoIdMo and NaNoWrimo

  1. Pingback: November – Getting it done and getting inspired! | As the Eraser Burns

  2. Howdy are using WordPress for your blog platform? I’m new to the
    blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own.
    Do you require any html coding knowledge tto make your
    own blog? Any help would be reaply appreciated!

Leave a Reply

