A This and a That

Happy Friday! At least for a few more minutes. The midnight hour is almost upon us as I sit here at the keyboard. I hope this finds you looking forward to a fun weekend, whether it be relaxing on your porch, getting some much-needed chores done, or enjoying the many autumn festivities.

images

(www.oakridgenurseryinc.com)

Whatever your plans, I promise not to keep you too long. One this, one that and I’m outta’ here!

I first want to reiterate how helpful it is to be on Twitter. Besides the professionals (authors, agents etc.) and fellow writers I have begun to connect with, I have discovered some great blogs, articles and websites. A blog that I came across is one that I reference here quite often. I found it by following Writer’s Digest:  Chuck Sambuchino’s Guide To Literary Agents Blog.  Author Laurie Halse Anderson also has a terrific blog that offers a lot of insight into the writing process. There are more, but I promised not to take long here!  To underscore this, here is a comment left by our former Twitter Administrator, the lovely Kerry Aradhya – “I agree that Twitter, especially, is great for helping feel part of the writing/illustrating community. And it’s such a nice community to be part of.”

And speaking of our nice community…regional member Ron Smith  shared some terrific news with us – “I just signed with Adriann Ranta of Wolf Literary! The book is a middle grade southern gothic with supernatural elements. At least that’s what I call it. I’m sure it’ll change!”

Congratulations, Ron! We’re all looking forward to your future success!

Have a fabulous fall weekend, friends! 🙂

 

About Susan Mannix

Susan worked as a biomedical research editor for the Department of the Navy for fourteen years and has been a member of SCBWI since 2007. She writes young adult and middle grade novels. When she isn’t writing, she spends her time doing all things horses, including attending her teenaged daughters’ many competitions. Susan lives in Maryland on a small farm with her husband, two children, an adorable black lab, two cats, and three horses.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A This and a That

  1. rsmith605 says:

    Thank you, Susan! It’s pretty exciting. And I agree, there are so many great resources on the web. Casey McCormick’s Agent Spotlight blog is another good one.

    • susanmannix says:

      You’re welcome! Please keep us posted. And thanks for website tip. I’m going to check that one out for sure!

  2. Sue Poduska says:

    Thanks for this, Susan! We all need to keep social. And congratulations to Ron! Wonderful news.

  3. rsmith605 says:

    Indeed. Here’s Casey’s blog: http://bit.ly/PqJGll

    It’s really wonderful. She does exhaustive research on agents and then links to interviews, what they rep, query details, etc. Really a great resource.

    • susanmannix says:

      Just clicked on your link. Silly me, I didn’t realize you were talking about Literary Rambles! Yes, it is a GREAT resource and she does fantastic work! Thanks for bringing it to the blog, Ron. 🙂

  4. rsmith605 says:

    Of course! I figured you knew about it.

  5. Loretta Carlson says:

    Talk about timely. Check out this article from Agent Marie Lamba, who spoke at our Lucky 13 conference: http://marielamba.wordpress.com/author/marielamba/

    • susanmannix says:

      Thanks Loretta! I love her blog. I remember that Marie’s talk echoed much of what Laura Whitaker said in her presentation. In short, social media is on the mind of a lot of publishing professionals!

Leave a Reply

