May Mid-Grade Madness Reminder

Happy Thursday! Mother Nature finally got the memo and spring has arrived! Temperatures have moderated in our region, everything is blooming (just ask allergy sufferers) and the baseball season is in full swing. I just love the month of May. Yes, it’s May and you know what that means!

Time for May Mid-Grade Madness!

So, will you be going from 0 to 16.5K words in 72 hours? If so, now is a good time to outline, develop characters and anything else you need to be ready to write, write, write! It’s also a good time to make available that laptop power cord, pens, paper, coffee, and copious amounts of chocolate & doritos healthy brain food. Pick a favorite cafe and gather some of your writer buddies.

images

(courtesy of writeinseattle.wordpress.com)

If you prefer to work alone, clear (or as would be in my house, bulldoze) and set-up a space at home that brings out your creative genius. For inspiration check out this drool-worthy office from the all things southern decorating and generally lovely blog Between Naps on the Porch:

Office-Chair

Seeing that I don’t have anything even remotely close to the above, I will be with Laura and a few of our writing pals at our favorite coffeeshop May 21-23 (even if I did, I’d probably choose to hang with my peeps). Look to the blog for pictures and madness! We cannot wait to share it with you!

Have a great day!

About Susan Mannix

Susan worked as a biomedical research editor for the Department of the Navy for fourteen years and has been a member of SCBWI since 2007. She writes young adult and middle grade novels. When she isn’t writing, she spends her time doing all things horses, including attending her teenaged daughters’ many competitions. Susan lives in Maryland on a small farm with her husband, two children, an adorable black lab, two cats, and three horses.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing & Drawing Exercises. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to May Mid-Grade Madness Reminder

  1. Laura Bowers says:

    I. Want. That. Office. Wow, talk about charming!

    And now that I finally have a book idea, (it idea hit me yesterday … thank God, I was getting worried,) I’m really excited about MMM! So far, we have eleven people on board, meaning there’s the potential of 181,500 written words in three days for our region. AWESOME!! 🙂

  2. I’m going to try to write at the coffee shop, too! We can do it!

  3. Lona Queen says:

    You can count me in. I hope to join you at the coffee shop on two of your three days.

Leave a Reply

