Random Pearls: Cindy Callaghan

Happy Tuesday, everyone!

Gaston-001I’m back from our amazing Disney vacation! I had a total blast running in the Princess Half Marathon, and look at one of the many celebrities I got to meet. Gaston!

Shh … don’t tell my husband we had a connection, okay? Thanks! 😉

He’s a bit of a character, but eh, us writers like characters, right? And many, many thanks to the lovely Susan Mannix for covering blog duties while I gone. You’re awesome!

Now it’s back to life, back to reality for me, which includes tackling our huge pile of mail. Imagine my sweet surprise, however, when I flipped through the latest copy of Writers Digest and saw a familiar face?

Yes, our very own regional author Cindy Callaghan had a fantastic article in the March/April 2013 issued called, “Title Trauma!”

WD0413_120p

Congratulations, Cindy, you rock! And it only seems fitting to feature her in today’s Random Pearls post!

So here’s our question for Cindy:

They say that to become successful, you should study the habits and philosophies of those in your field who are already successful. Other than writing every day, what unique work habits or philosophies do you possess that makes you excel?

Firstly, let me confess: I don’t write everyday. It doesn’t fit in my schedule that way. I prefer to write for large chunks of time 2-3 times a week. I also think it is helpful on my “off” days to think about my project. On my days off, I still do writerly things: read, network, surf the internet etc…

Having been in Corporate America, I have discipline work habits. I wake up early (my mind is very fresh in the early morning), get dressed, put on make up, etc… and I really think of my writing as a “business”. To me, it’s not a hobby. I treat it like a job.

Awesome, thanks, Cindy, and best of luck with LOST IN LONDON!

London

Jordan needs excitement, anything but her current ho-hum life.  She jets to London hoping to find an adventure; she finds one, and oh-so-much more.  Over six short days she and her posh new friends get locked in a massive department store overnight, blackmailed into conducting a cross-city scavenger hunt that takes her to amazing medieval sites, and find themselves in trouble with the London police.

As you would expect from a Callaghan book, LOST IN LONDON is face-paced, funny, and stuffed with quirky characters and lots of delicious desserts.

Don’t miss LOST IN LONDON coming out from Simon & Schuster’s Aladdin M!x in 2013.

Happy writing and drawing, everyone! 🙂

About Laura Bowers

Laura is a writer, runner, reader, runDisney addict, blogger/vlogger at Write, Run, Rejoice and Joyful Miles, mom of two college boys, excellent chili maker, and obsessive list keeper. She clearly likes run-on sentences and adverbs. She also still thinks Spice World was an awesome movie and feels no shame about that.
This entry was posted in Just for Fun Features, Member News. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Random Pearls: Cindy Callaghan

  1. Ron Smith says:

    My brain works best in the early morning, too. I work from home as an ad writer, and fortunately, those first few hours of the morning are usually dedicated to fiction. A few hours later, I put on the advertising hat and turn into Don Draper. Minus the afternoon drinking and being a lothario.

    Thanks for this!

  2. Lois Hoffman says:

    Laura, Great job on the 1/2 marathon. I’m impressed. I would be lucky to get 1/2 mile!
    I also work best in the morning, but prefer to be in my PJ’s. Once I get dressed, I’m ready to get out the door.

Leave a Reply

