From Light Bulb to Keyboard: Amie Rose Rotruck

Hello Friends! I hope you all had a Happy Thanksgiving and are gearing up for the holiday season. I have to say this is definitely my favorite time of year!

Laura and I have been putting our heads together (no mean feat, I must say) to bring some fresh ideas to the blog. A couple of weeks ago we were graced with a random pearl of inspiration from Michelle Ray. This week I am introducing a new feature:

From Light Bulb…

…to Keyboard

Where we learn from published authors what happens to those initial great story ideas. This week, regional member Amie Rose Rotruck offers her secret. Amie is the author of Bronze Dragon Codex and How to Trap a Zombie, Track a Vampire, and Other Hands-On Activities for Monster Hunters: A Young Wizards Handbook.

You’ve just been inspired with a fantastic, breathtaking idea for a novel. What’s your next step?

Well, I’d like to say that I come up with a spreadsheet to write it within a year and then do just that.  However, I usually like to meander around and get to know the characters and the plot.  I just sit down and start writing, sometimes general notes, sometimes a narrative almost of publishable quality (at least in terms of sentence structure and grammar, not necessarily story and style!).  Sometimes I write the story straight through as a rough draft (I did this with one story a couple years ago), other times I go back and revise the earlier chapters, sometimes I put together chapter summaries so I can see where I’m going.  While I like the productivity of a schedule, this meandering and learning the story as I go is my favorite way to write.

Good to know meandering works. Gives me hope! Thanks Amie!

Here’s to those light bulb moments and the magic that follows! Happy writing everyone!

About Susan Mannix

Susan worked as a biomedical research editor for the Department of the Navy for fourteen years and has been a member of SCBWI since 2007. She writes young adult and middle grade novels. When she isn’t writing, she spends her time doing all things horses, including attending her teenaged daughters’ many competitions. Susan lives in Maryland on a small farm with her husband, two children, an adorable black lab, two cats, and three horses.
This entry was posted in Just for Fun Features. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to From Light Bulb to Keyboard: Amie Rose Rotruck

  1. Your brainstorming paid off, Laura and Susan. This feature was practical and inspiring. I wonder if Amie would approve of my four-year-long meander. Maybe I better try a chapter summary. So fun to communicate from people who speak writing. 🙂

    • susanmannix says:

      I’m so glad you were inspired by this. That was our goal. There’s nothing better than hearing from published authors about their habits and philosophies. As for your meandering…no judging here. I’m a huge serial meanderer!

Leave a Reply

