Your Friendly May Mid-Grade Madness Reminder

Are you ready for the May Mid-Grade Madness?

Despite my initial reservations that Laura chronicled oh-so-well, I’m really looking forward to this challenge. Some of my happiest childhood memories were of the time I spent reading my favorite books…over and over again. There were so many, but three really stand out after all this time (we’re talking decades here, friends). I didn’t know  they were classics or Newberry Books. I just knew I was transported to a different place with some fabulous young heroines:

Boy, Harriet was awesome! To say that she was resourceful is an understatement. I’m pretty sure I kept a notebook just like hers and had an affinity for tomato sandwiches.

We all need to channel our inner Pippi!

Kit was the quintessential romantic heroine – strong, smart, and not afraid to fly in the face of convention.

These great books are my inspiration. Not that I will be writing about a colorful headstrong girl living in colonial Connecticut who has a penchant for solving mysteries. But, they do make me want to create a book that maybe someday a child will get lost in.

So, what is your inspiration?

To help bring that inspiration to the keyboard and paper, Laura found some terrific resources.

First up is a valuable video from Martha Alderson, also known as the “Plot Whisperer.”

Next is another video, this one by Mary Carroll Moore, which she calls Your Book Starts Here – Storyboarding for Writers.

You also might be interested in using the popular Snowflake Method. Laura and I both love it. Pam Smallcomb, author of the picture books I’M NOT and EARTH TO CLUNK (as well as many middle-grade books) also swears by it.

And to round out the above resources, here are a couple of useful articles: “How to Write a Book in Three Days” and the fun “How to Write a Book in Three Days (aka How to Gain Weight & Alienate People)” by blogger/author Lori Dyan.

Okay fellow writers, time to get plotting, storyboarding and snowflaking. Store up those creative-boosting snacks and give ample warning to your loved ones.

Get pumped!!

May Mid-Grade Madness is a week away!!

About Susan Mannix

Susan worked as a biomedical research editor for the Department of the Navy for fourteen years and has been a member of SCBWI since 2007. She writes young adult and middle grade novels. When she isn’t writing, she spends her time doing all things horses, including attending her teenaged daughters’ many competitions. Susan lives in Maryland on a small farm with her husband, two children, an adorable black lab, two cats, and three horses.
This entry was posted in Writing & Drawing Exercises. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Your Friendly May Mid-Grade Madness Reminder

  1. Laura Bowers says:

    Great post, Susan! Love the ‘get pumped’ photo. :)

    And I’m glad one of us is looking forward to MMGM because I woke up this morning thinking, “What the heck have I gotten myself into, publically committing myself to writing an entire novel in 72 hours??? I mean, seriously. What was I drinking???”

    . . . Deep breath, deep breath, it’s all good . . .

    Guess I’d be feeling more confident if I weren’t worried about my manuscript choice being too long and “deep.” I need to scale back and do something else. Something simple. Breezy.

    Okay, that’s my goal for tonight. To think of a simple, breeze book idea.

    Hope everyone else who has committed is feeling more confident than me! :)

  2. Just wanted to pop in and say good luck to everyone participating in this crazy scheme.

    • Laura Bowers says:

      Thanks, Kara, for the support! And we will gladly accept all donations of coffee, donuts, and perhaps a little Prozac. :)

Leave a Reply

