Coffee & Conversation with Rebecca Evans!

Woo Hoo Wednesday! (had to get one woo hoo in for Laura!).  It’s the holiday season and the gifts keep piling up. We are continuing our illustrators’ month with the captivating work of Rebecca Evans. Sit back, relax, and enjoy the cyber cafe.

Here are some examples of her illustrations. The first is called “Reading”

and here is “Jasper” from her upcoming release.

As an illustrator, Rebecca Evans boasts over nine plus years of experience as an artist and designer. Her artistic background is broad and her credentials include a Bachelor of Arts degree in Visual Art with a concentration in Illustration from Messiah College, as well as coursework from the Tyler School of Art. She has illustrated two children’s picture books Jasper Finds a New Home, (due to be released in January 2012,)

and “My Clara”.

Her favorite medium to work in is Watercolor. Her experience also includes teaching art at the Chesapeake Center for Creative Arts, and publishing artwork with magazines. While she grew up in Western New York enjoying the outdoors, drawing, reading, and singing, she now resides in Maryland enjoying time with her husband and three children and working from her home studio.

Her illustrations give glimpses into a captivating world of childlike wonder and uninhibited joy, of tender moments, and far off places. Filled with fascination, and inspired by imagination they will fill your home with a special story all its own. To view more of her work please visit her website at: www.rebeccaevans.net.

And now that Rebecca is settled with her favorite coffeehouse beverage, hot chocolate–the more whipped cream the better,

And her favorite snack, a handful of cashews or peanuts always makes her happy–throw in a couple of m&m’s and she’ll do the happy dance . . .

Let’s begin! When did you decide to be an illustrator, Rebecca?

I think I was 5 when I told my mom I wanted to grow up and draw every day, but I was in college when I took my first illustration class and decided this was what I wanted to do with my life!

How long did your path to your first sale take, and what were your biggest hurdles?

I illustrated my first book my senior year in college, but then I graduated and didn’t know how to get publishers interested in my work to get more jobs. It wasn’t until two years ago that I learned about SCBWI and really began to understand the in’s and out’s of the publishing field!

Since hindsight is 20/20, what advice for beginners do you wish you would’ve followed?

Join SCBWI and go to the events!

What’s your favorite medium?

Watercolor all the way!

Where’s your favorite place to work?

My drafting table in my studio in front of the windows – with NO INTERRUPTIONS

Which illustrators inspire you?

Gennady Spirin, Maxfield Parrish, and Norman Rockwell of course, Jonathan Bean, Eliza Wheeler

What were your favorite books as a child?

Thumbelina, Cinderella and anything with a princess!

How were you inspired to illustrate your current or upcoming release?

My publisher wanted a cute but warty little happy toad. My first reaction was “warts cant be cute, can they?” But I watched some old movies of my son fascinated with a little toad he had caught in our yard when he was three – playing with it and even kissing it (ewww!) – and I tried to see this little character through his eyes.

Time for the lightning round!

Do you . . .
Work from photos or imagination?  Both, I look at photos and sometimes make a folder on my computer with images, and then I sit down with a pencil and work from imagination based on the photos I’ve seen.

Talk about works-in-progress, or keep it zipped?  I’ll talk about them to a certain extent, but only enough to whet your appetite!

Prefer sketching or final art?  I prefer the final art of painting.

Dread marketing/blogging or love it?  Dread it, give me a blank sheet of watercolor paper and I get all excited, give me a blank blog post and I get sweaty palms. 🙂

Enjoy brainstorming more or researching?  Brainstorming is the most fun to me. But I’ve got to do the research first if the brainstorming is going to be successful.

Read Kindle or traditional books?  Traditional, I love the feel of paper and the smell of the printed pages. Nothing beats it!

And finally, what’s your favorite:

Time to work?   Mid afternoon or late at night

Music to listen to while drawing?  I have an itunes playlist entitled “inspirational songs” with all my favorite slow, classical and ethereal songs.

Traditional media or digital?  Traditional

Pair of shoes?  None, I love barefoot

Guiltiest pleasure?  Cheesecake Mmmmmm….

Thanks, Rebecca for visiting and good luck with your upcoming release!!

Happy writing and illustrating to all!

About Laura Bowers

Laura is a writer, runner, reader, runDisney addict, blogger/vlogger at Write, Run, Rejoice and Joyful Miles, mom of two college boys, excellent chili maker, and obsessive list keeper. She clearly likes run-on sentences and adverbs. She also still thinks Spice World was an awesome movie and feels no shame about that.
This entry was posted in Interviews: Illustrators. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Coffee & Conversation with Rebecca Evans!

  1. Rebecca, your illustrations for Jasper Finds a New Home look great! I can’t wait to see the book. Congratulations and thanks for sharing your work with us.

  2. ediehemingway says:

    I’m looking forward to JASPER FINDS A NEW HOME, Rebecca. Your artwork is beautiful!

  3. Pingback: December Illustrator Spotlight Recap « As the Eraser Burns

Leave a Reply

