Top Picks for Books on Writing!

Wow, it’s hard to believe there’s only two weeks until the Spring into Action conference!

For those first-time conference goers who missed a previous post, here’s a survival guide for newbies that might help you prepare.

And I hope that everyone who is getting a critique has thought of a great pitch for their story by now!  🙂 For those who are struggling in this department, I plan on posting some tips early next week.

Until then, I thought it’d be fun to start a feature where people share their favorite writing how-to books! Here’s a few picks from some SCBWI members:

Regional Advisor Edie Hemingway says:

I have tons of books on the craft of writing, but my favorite is  WRITING ALONE AND WITH OTHERS by Pat Schneider. It has so many wonderful exercises that I’ve tried on my own and also with my students. The blurb on the cover says it’s “the guide that will beat the block, banish fear, and help create lasting work.”

[To further prove this point, here’s a photo I took from Edie’s house:]

~

Mary Quattlebaum, author of the upcoming PIRATE VS. PIRATE adds:

Here’s my favorite writing-craft book:  The Writer’s Guide to Crafting Stories for Children by Nancy Lamb.  It’s a very strong basic text, which addresses issues of structure, scene, suspense, setting, and point of view (as well as character and form).  I always recommend it to students interested in writing for children/young adults.

~

Pam Smallcomb, the upcoming February 28th ABC speaker, loves:

THE COMIC TOOLBOX!  Okay, I’ve already mentioned Pam’s pick in a previous post, but I love the book as well so it’s worth repeating.  A must read for anyone who wants to hike up the humor in their stories!

~

So what about you?  What’s your favorite book on writing, one that you might refer to whenever you hit the wall?  Please email your response to laura.bowers at comcast.net so I can use it in an upcoming post!

And finally, here’s a comforting thought:

    “Writing is a socially acceptable form of schizophrenia.”  ~E.L. Doctorow

Whew, that explains the voices in my head!  I feel so much better. 🙂

Have a great weekend!

Laura Bowers

About Laura Bowers

Laura is a writer, runner, reader, runDisney addict, blogger/vlogger at Write, Run, Rejoice and Joyful Miles, mom of two college boys, excellent chili maker, and obsessive list keeper. She clearly likes run-on sentences and adverbs. She also still thinks Spice World was an awesome movie and feels no shame about that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

